Without question, Southern California based group Con Funk Shun are unsung heroes among funk bands of the 1970s and 80s. The band was formed in 1969 by Vallejo California high school students Louis A. McCall Sr. (drums/percussion/vocals) and Michael Cooper (rhythm guitar/vocals) under the name Project Soul. By 1971, the group had gone on to include bassist Cedric Martin, keyboardist Danny “Sweet Man” Thomas, trumpeter Karl Fuller and woodwinds player Paul “Maceo” Harrell. Not soon after, the group’s classic lineup would become complete with the addition of singer/multi-instrumentalist Felton Pilate. In 1971, the group changed it’s name to Con Funk Shun after a song by the band The Nite-Liters. They relocated to Memphis where they were  hired by Stax Records to back up the Soul Children. While there, they came to the attention of Estelle Axton who signed them to her Fretone Records label. Their first album, “Organized Con Funk Shun” was released in 1973. In 1974, the band’s name was officially changed to Con Funk Shun by the wife of Louis McCall and she became the group’s publicist and created their logo. In 1976, Con Funk Shun signed with Mercury Records, releasing 11 albums over a 10 year period. The group is responsible for the hits  “Ffun”, “Too Tight”, “Got To Be Enough” and “Love’s Train”, among others. Con Funk Shun continues to receive airplay on US soul radio stations that play music from the 1970s and 1980s.